top of page
  • Kitty Lin

The Dawning of a New Day

I don't know why in some cases miracles seem to occur, and in others prayers seem to go unanswered. But what I do know is that God is always with us no matter what.



Hi everyone! I hope you are having a wonderful Easter day! I love this time time of year when we have the chance to focus on rebirth, growth, change, and hope. At the heart of each of these things is the Savior, Jesus Christ. I am so grateful for His Atonement and Resurrection and for the hope and reassurance that it can provide to each and every one of us.


This week sadly, we saw the tragic fire in Notre Dame occur. It has always been one of my favorite Cathedrals and has been a symbol of faith for centuries. Being a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, it reminds me of when one of our own beloved buildings caught fire several years ago. The Provo Tabernacle was rebuilt into the Provo City Center Temple, becoming a place for worthy individuals to make eternal covenants with their Father in Heaven and be sealed as a family for eternity. Although at the time of the fire we did not know why God had allowed the fire to take place, or what it's future would be, God had a special plan in mind, and was able to turn the disaster into a blessing. Like the Provo Tabernacle, I am sure that Notre Dame will be rebuilt and will come out even more beautiful than before. Father McCarthy noted how "something is going to rise from these ashes." As I was thinking about these things, I couldn't help but draw parallels into my own life.


Last summer, my family and I were evacuated from our homes due to the fires in Utah. I remember as we were evacuating I could see the flames coming over the mountain and I thought that it was only a matter of time before everything was lost. Although the prospect of losing everything was a difficult one, there were so many blessings that came from that experience. There was so much generosity and kindness that was extended by friends, the community, and strangers alike. It really brought out the best in people and reminded me of what really was important. My family was safe, and that was the most important thing. If we did lose everything, I knew that we would rebuild our lives together with love and support from those around us. But what also helped me to get through the hard time was my faith in Jesus Christ. In his op-ed article for AZCentral President Nelson said, "if there is anything I've learned in my 94 years of living, it is that a life with God is far better - more filled with hope - than one without Him. Faith in God is, and has always been, the pre-eminent force for good in this world. It is the most enduring source of peace for minds and hearts." Fortunately, due to several miracles and the dedicated work of firefighters, policemen, and so many others our homes were able to be saved. But I know that even if it had gone the other way, God would have been with us.





I don't know why in some cases miracles seem to occur, and in others prayers seem to go unanswered. But what I do know is that God is always with us no matter what. Sometimes He has a different plan in mind for us than one we could ever imagine. In one of my favorite quotes C.S. Lewis said,


"Imagine yourself as a living house. God comes in to rebuild that house. At first, perhaps, you can understand what He is doing. He is getting the drains right and stopping the leaks in the roof and so on; you knew that those jobs needed doing and so you are not surprised. But presently He starts knocking the house about in a way that hurts abominably and does not seem to make any sense. What on earth is He up to? The explanation is that He is building quite a different house from the one you thought of - throwing out a new wing here, putting on an extra floor there, running up towers, making courtyards. You thought you were being made into a decent little cottage: but He is building a palace. He intends to come and live in it Himself."


And so sometimes we need to pass through trials, hardships, and uncomfortable things, but it doesn't mean that God doesn't love us. I find that in those times it can be when I feel God's love for me the strongest. Those times, if we let them, can shape us into a new person, we can become something new, something better, and something stronger. Hope is never lost, and no matter what happens, we always have a Savior who knows exactly what we are going through to help us, comfort us, and carry us through.


Of course, that relief doesn't always come immediately or in the way that we'd like. Sometimes we feel alone and abandoned and are desperately grasping for any light we can find in the night of our trials. However the dawn will come. Hope is never lost. A new day is coming and our cares and sorrows will vanish. We will be able to look back and see our trials and afflictions as a blessing that made us into who we were meant to be. We each have our own journeys, our own refining fires to pass through. But we can have the assurance that "the Savior makes all things right. No injustice in mortality is permanent, even death, for He restores life again. No injury, disability, betrayal, or abuse goes uncompensated in the end because of His ultimate justice and mercy." (Elder D. Todd Christofferson)


I am so grateful for my Savior and I know that because of Him, we can have the hope not only in a glorious life in the world to come, but joy in this one as well.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

“You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think." ― A.A. Milne

bottom of page